The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) recently revised the CMS 1500 claim form. On June

10, 2013, the White House Office of Management and Budget (OMB) approved the revised form,

02/12. The revised form has a number of changes. Those most notable for Medicare are new

indicators to differentiate between ICD-9 and ICD-10 codes on a claim, and qualifiers to identify

whether certain providers are being identified as having performed an ordering, referring, or

supervising role in the furnishing of the service. In addition, the revised form uses letters, instead of

numbers, as diagnosis code pointers, and expands the number of possible diagnosis codes on a claim

to 12.  For additional information please click CMS 1500

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s